The 7 Types of Islamic Judgement


The 7 Types of Islamic


The Islamic Judgements are divided into 7 types

  1. Obligatory
  2. Recommended
  3. Prohibited
  4. Disliked
  5. Permissible
  6. Valid
  7. Invalid

  1. Obligatory
  2. The obligatory judgement is that which the doer will receive reward for and the neglecter of which deserves punishment. This is divided into two subdivisions. The personal obligation and the communal obligation. The personal obligation is that which is obligatory upon every accountable person, like the five daily prayers. The communal obligation is also an obligation, if some perform it than others are relieved from it. Examples are the congregational prayer, memorizing the entire book of the Qur'an, and working in the beneficial handiwork that the Muslims need.

  3. Recommended
  4. As for the recommended matters the one who does it earns the reward, but the one who leaves it out does not deserve punishment. Examples include the recommended prayers and using the siwak.

  5. Prohibited
  6. As for the prohibited matters the one who leaves it following the orders of Allah earns reward, and the one who performs it deserves punishment. Examples are drinking alcohol, adultery, lying and stealing.

  7. Disliked
  8. The judgement of the disliked matters is if one leaves it out one earns reward, and if one does it one will not be punished. An example will be wasting water during Wudu or Ghusl.

  9. Permissible
  10. The judgement of the permissible matters is that if one does it one will not earn reward and if one leaves it out one will not be punished.

  11. Valid
  12. The judgement of the valid matters is what is in accordance with the rules of Islam and has satisfied all the conditions and integrals.

  13. Invalid
  14. The judgement of the invalid matters are judged as the opposite of the valid matters. They have not satisfied the conditions and integrals. An example will be praying without the proper purification.