The three kinds of patience


The three kinds of patience

Allaah said in the Quran what means "strengthen yourself by patience and prayer and know that God supports the patient people." Patience is among the obligations of the heart, it is of three kinds:

  1. Patience in performing what Allaah made obligatory
  2. Patience in avoiding what Allaah made unlawful
  3. Patience with hardships and calamities

Patience in performing the obligations is forcing oneself to do the obligations like praying on time, fasting the month of Ramadan, attending the circles of knowledge to learn the Islamic obligatory knowledge, and other obligation. Even if one feels lazy to do them.

Patience in avoiding what Allaah made unlawful is restraining oneself from committing the sins. It takes a lot of effort to stop oneself from committing the unlawful, like leaving out the prayer, drinking, stealing, and other unlawful matters. It is one's nature to lean towards laziness and easycoming pleasures even if they are unlawful, so we need patience to avoid them.

Patience with hardships and calamities is being patient with what bothers one. Such as pain, hardships, poverty, sadness, or other afflictions that befall on the person in his life. Because this world is a place of calamities, task, and a workplace. While the Hereafter is a place for judgement and reward. For this type of patience to take place one needs NOT to act or talk in a way that reflect one's impatience. It is obligatory upon the pubescent person to refrain from objecting to Allaah and to be content with Allah's decree and Will. Subjugating oneself to Allaah is among the obligations of the heart. Objecting to Allah is a blasphemous act. Many people fall into blasphemy because they do not subjugate themselves to Allaah, rather they object to him and this is Blasphemy. The Muslim should be patient and should train oneself in patience so that he can get used to it. One should also rely on Allaah in all one's matters.